Dusting Off the Camera

When Rusty goes on his trips out to the jungle, he usually takes our little point-and-shoot camera with him. He prefers something small both for the sake of space and for the fact that it is less likely to be damaged than a big fancy camera (and if it is, it’s less expensive to replace). We bought this camera about 2 years ago, and since then, have used it almost exclusively, so our very nice Canon Digital Rebel DSLR camera has gotten almost no use.

Normally, when Rusty is away with the camera, I just don’t take any pictures, or I use my camera phone to take quick shots to post on Facebook. I have not traditionally been the photographer in our family. Rusty takes the pictures, and I scrapbook or blog them! But I have been thinking a lot about that nice DSLR just sitting in a bag, and what a shame that it isn’t getting any use. And really, what is more of a shame is that neither of us knows enough about cameras and photography to use it to its full potential and take pictures using anything other than the auto-modes.

I would love to learn to be a better photographer. I am in awe of some of the pictures I see on blogs around the web. And so, another of my goals for this year is to become more familiar with our camera and all its settings, to experiment with it, and generally to just take more — a lot more — pictures. I’m not an artist (as in, I don’t draw or paint), but I think I can see photography becoming part of my creative expression. I wish there were a class I could take, but for now, I think I will have to just teach myself through trial and error and maybe some Internet tutorials.

So, I got the camera out the other day. And charged up the battery. And found the software and installed it on my laptop (and then spent the better part of an evening trying to figure out how to get my computer and the camera to communicate so I could download the pictures we took at Christmas). And then today, I actually used the camera to take some pictures of Benjamin. I’m not sure how they turned out because I haven’t downloaded them to my computer yet, but it was fun! And it was a first step.

P.S. If anyone reading this know of a good website or online class for those wanting to move beyond the basics of DSLR camera use, I would love to hear about it. You can leave your tips in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Dusting Off the Camera

  1. There is a new missionary family in Matsudo, Leslie and Sara Taylor. He has a website with some amazing! photos of Japan. He often tells the details of the camera settings, etc. Even if that doesn’t help, you will surely enjoy looking at his photos. I think you might also enjoy Sara’s blog, gaijinmom.com.

    • Thanks, Jeanne. I have been to both their blogs, and I really enjoy them. I am gathering ideas for a revamp of our family blog as well as a new ministry website for Kumanii, and theirs was one that I pinned.

Leave a Reply

