Putting Away Christmas

So, I finally made myself put Christmas away today. The ornaments are tucked back into their tissue paper; the tree is in its box; the Christmas dishes have been replaced with my everyday white dishes. Soon, the Christmas cookies will be all gone. So, I guess Christmas is officially over.

I like to leave the Christmas stuff up until at least Epiphany (a.k.a. Orthodox or Ethiopian Christmas) so that I get a chance to enjoy it after all the hubbub is over. I didn’t get much of a chance to bask in the soft glow of the Christmas tree and the warmth of a crackling fire before Christmas because it seemed like every night after the kids were in bed, I was baking or shopping or wrapping gifts. The day after Christmas, Alex told me he wished every day was Christmas. I remember having the same thought when I was a kid, but now that I’m a grownup, I’m glad it only comes once a year! It’s a lot of work to make Christmas special for your family. And of course its work I love doing, but I’m still worn out by the time it’s all over!

So after it’s all over is my time to just sit and enjoy the tree and the lights and some peaceful Christmas music. I know people who are obsessive about getting Christmas put away before the New Year, and I always think to myself, “What’s the rush? Just relax and enjoy it for awhile.” Of course, I know some people decorate for Christmas in mid-November, so maybe they really are just tired of looking at it all by then. I always wait until after Thanksgiving to do anything Christmas-related, and by then, it’s only 4 weeks (or less) away.

Putting Christmas away is a big job, almost as big as getting it out, and not nearly as much fun. But it’s done for another year. All that remains is to haul the boxes to the attic. But I think I’ll wait for my strong and manly husband to come home from the jungle and help me with that part!

Leave a Reply

