New Year. New Blog.

The new year is a time for goal-setting and resolutions. The idea for this new blog has been percolating in my mind for some time now, and the New Year seemed like the perfect time to begin. It’s true I already blog at The Campbell Chronicles, so why the need for this second blog?

I have increasingly felt a little stifled when it comes to writing on our family blog. It certainly serves its purpose. It keeps us connected to family and friends all over the world, and now that we are on the mission field, it serves as a window into our world for our supporters and churches back in the U.S. On a personal level, it serves as a sort of online family scrapbook, a record of the places we’ve been and the things we’ve done. But, as I alluded to in this recent post, I often find myself engaged in an internal censoring process when I write because you just never know who will be reading!

It’s true that the same holds true for this space — I don’t really know who (if anyone) will be reading! But I don’t come here as a missionary to report on our work, or even a proud mama to post pictures of her kids. I just come here as a person with doubts and fears, longings and dreams, opinions and ideas. Don’t come expecting to find someone who has it all together — I most definitely don’t! This blog will give you a glimpse of life as I see and experience it… the good, the bad, the beautiful, and the ugly.

What I want most of all when I write here is to be real. To write unmasked. Vulnerably. This is something I feel like I haven’t been able to do for a long time now. But I’m ready to try. I want to try.

I really hope I’m up to this challenge!

2 thoughts on “New Year. New Blog.

Leave a Reply

